Youth football opens Sept. 2


The Granville Horde youth football team will begin its Northeast Youth Football League season with a pair of home games Sunday, Sept. 2, for the junior and senior tackle squads.

The juniors will take on Schuylerville Orange at 11 a.m. at Ken Burch Field, and the seniors will play at 1 p.m.

The Horde flag teams begin play a day earlier with Granville 1 playing at Salem and Granville 2 playing at Greenwich. Both games are at 10 a.m.

The remaining games for the tackle teams are as follows:

Sunday, Sept. 9: At Manchester.

Saturday, Sept. 15: At Greenwich.

Sunday, Sept. 23: At Vermont (Castleton).

Sunday, Sept. 30: Salem at Granville

Sunday, Oct. 7: Hoosic Valley at Granville.

The Sunday schedule is 11 a.m. for junior games and 1 p.m. for senior games. On Sept. 15, the juniors play at 5:30 p.m. and the seniors play at 7:30 p.m.

Playoff dates are Sunday, Oct. 14, and Sunday, Oct. 21, and the NTFL Super Bowls are Oct. 28.

Granville will also run a pair of flag football teams.

The remaining schedule for Granville 1 is:

Saturday, Sept. 8: At Whitehall 1, 10 a.m.

Saturday, Sept. 15:Vs. Brunswick 1, 10 a.m.

Saturday, Sept. 22: At Brunswick 1, 11 a.m.

Saturday, Sept. 29: Bye.

Saturday, Oct. 6: Vs. Whitehall 2, 10 a.m.

The schedule for Granville 2 is:

Saturday, Sept. 8: At Whitehall 2, 11 a.m.

Saturday, Sept. 15:Vs. Brunswick 2, 11 a.m.

Saturday, Sept. 22: At Brunswick 3, noon.

Saturday, Sept. 29: Bye.

Saturday, Oct. 6: Vs. Whitehall 1, 11 a.m.

Flag football is for students in kindergarten to second grade, juniors are in third and fourth grade and seniors are in fifth and sixth.

Greg Scribner is the league president and vice president of the NYFL. Greg Bourn is the vice president of the local group.

Comments

comments

Read more in this week's Sentinel in newsstands now or click here to read right now with our e-edition.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Lakes Classifieds – 04/18/14

Northshire Freepress 04/18/14

North Country Freepress – 04/18/14

Weekender 04/18/14

Community Calendar 04/17/14

Thursday, April 17   Grant for Salem SALEM Salem Courthouse Community Garden asks area residents to help the SCC Garden […]

Classifieds 04/16/14

Lakes Region Freepress 04/11/14

Northshire Freepress 04/11/14

North Country Freepress – 04/11/14

Weekender 04/11/14

Lakes Classifieds – 04/11/14

Bob Preston Chase, 85

  Robert Preston Chase, (Bob), 85, of Poughkeepsie and Granville, N.Y. passed away on April 4, 2014, He succumbed to […]